SAO PAULO, -- Uruguayan referee Andres Cunha was suspended Wednesday for failing to issue a red card against Argentina defender Nicolas Otamendi in a World Cup qualifying match against Brazil.
In the 35th minute, Otamendi struck Brazil forward Raphinha with an elbow. At halftime, the Brazilian needed five stitches and continued to bleed during the second half.
"It looks like a foul to a yellow card. According to a CONMEBOL video, Ostojich said that he didn't see any red.
Otamendi posted on Twitter that he had touched the ball only.
Argentina qualified for the World Cup in Qatar next year with a draw of 0-0. Brazil was already qualified for the tournament.
CONMEBOL stated in a statement, Cunha and Ostojich had made "a serious error" and were placed on suspension for an indefinite period.
CONMEBOL also suspended Roberto Tobar, a Chilean referee, for failing to punish Neymar or Juan Guillermo Cuadrado during Brazil's 1-0 victory over Colombia on Wednesday.
During the match in Sao Paulo Neymar placed his chest near Tobar's, but Tobar wasn't booked. Cuadrado also illegally used his arm during the match and was not carded.
According to the Brazilian soccer confederation, Otamendi will be punished by FIFA's disciplinary panel.
Brazil coach Tite criticised Cunha's video assistant referees after the draw.
Tite stated, "It is impossible to not see Otamendi’s elbow on Raphinha." "Was that going be the decisive match? I don't know. It was a fantastic match. However, there is something missing that should be equally shared by both teams.